No Poo, an update

Posted: October 21, 2010 in home life, no poo experiment

Eeech reading that title brings to mind several older family members and how they like to update me on lots of subjects pertaining to them that I really don’t want to know. That’s not what this update is about! This is actually my third post on my ongoing no poo(shampoo) challenge. It’s not a contest or anything, but I’m dubbing it a challenge because it has been so far. Here is my first post about no poo and my second, just in case you’re interested.

No poo is not going great for me I’ve got to admit. My hair? My hair is all kinds of yucky right now. The only positive change in it compared to how it was earlier this week, is that it’s no longer itchy. It is however sticky, as in parts of my hair are sticking to other parts of my hair. When I brush it I’m getting whitish residue on my brush, I’m not sure if this is due to the baking soda alone or the combination of the baking soda and my hard water.

Reading up on this it seems like hard water can cause problems with the no poo regime. I also found out that boiling the water before adding it to the baking soda may help with this. There’s another goof on my part that may be causing my issues. (Hair issues, causes to all other issues are still to be determined.)

I’ve been using the baking soda/apple cider vinegar way too often. Up to this point I’ve been using the baking soda/avc every day. Apparently the baking soda is used to strip the hair of oils, so by  using it every day I’m causing my hair to create more oils than necessary.

This is entirely my own doing. Crunchy Betty herself said to do the treatment 2 to 3 times a week with only water rinse in between. I heard that but I also saw that her hair was prone to be dry and thin, my hair prone to be thick and oily should probably need more treatments, right? Wrong, apparently. I didn’t use the treatment today, I just had a water rinse. My hair’s yucky as I said but I’m allowing it the time to calm down from my bad treatment of it this past week.

I will most probably water rinse it again tomorrow and then use the treatment again on the following day. I’m really hoping the hair fairies choose to be kind soon. I have a birthday party to go to and I don’t wear hats well. I wore a baseball hat to Wal-Mart the other day and could swear that everyone could tell what was going on under my hat. It was probably just me being my overly no hat wearing, awkward self. That and the fact that I was giving everybody crazy eyes ” What?” stares…yea that may have been it. The saga continues.

P.S–my next experiment? Might just be homemade all natural deodorant, I’m letting my husband get over my hair shock before trying this one out.

Comments
  1. Oh no! I’m sorry the no ‘poo isn’t going well. I’m on day 7 and it’s looking pretty good today. Feels weird though. Hope you figure it out.

Leave a Reply

