Why I blog & happiness

Posted: October 20, 2010 in me
Tags: , , , ,

Do you ever have one of those days where you were writing a blog post in your head all day long? I have them often- only to lose it all once I get the chance to jot it all down. I should take notes but I never have, except where it came to poetic-like jabings. My head is my blog, what spills over, what’s left over, goes here. It goes here because I need the space. It goes here because my friends on facebook were getting tired(I’m assuming) of seeing their timeline filled with my “notes”, and I was tired of avoiding eye contact after a little too much sharing.

Today was my daughter’s third birthday-and all day long I wrote a blog in my head, now I’m just too happy to share it all, it needs time to set. I’m happy tonight for so many reasons. I’m waiting for my happy to calm down so I can sleep.

First and foremost, my baby is three now! That’s a bittersweet happy. It swells and breaks my heart at the same time. 3 is a magic number, especially for birthdays it seems. They are old enough to realize it’s their birthday but still young enough to think it’s everyone else’s birthday too. Those moments when she said happy birthday back to whoever wished her a happy birthday first? Those moments never got old. The moments she stopped whatever she was doing to hug me as tight as her little still baby- soft arms could, they were precious.

I’m happy for other reasons too, maybe less meaningful but still important reasons. My sketchbook project notebook came in the mail today. This happened on the same day my doodle got put into the doodle challenge. Both these things are big for me. I’ve been trying to become more connected with others like me. Blogs make me feel like I’ve gained acess to the world of writers. I don’t need to be the best blogger, merely being a part of the community is huge for me. The sketchbook project and the doodle challenge help me feel connected to another part of myself, the artist within. What I said about the blogging world applies here as well, and another thing. Connecting with people who do the things I like to do, inspire me, you fuel me. I’m like a creativity vampire but not undead( although if I don’t start getting more sleep soon!) Anyway, I’m happy- I’m thankful…just saying that would’ve probably made this blog alot shorter. If you read this blog skip to the bottom next time if you’re time-limited. And thank you.

Leave a Reply

