Re-used Art

Posted: September 23, 2010 in crafts, kids

My daughters, who are four and two, love art projects. Every morning when they wake up they ask to do a craft. I like to reuse items whenever I can, and art projects are a good candidate for this.

The tops to oatmeal canisters are great to put paint on. The paint doesn’t absorb into the plastic surface and when the paint does dry, you can just peel it off.

My husband is always getting packages in the mail. I cut up the boxes and then use them as frames for the girls art.

I glue a sheet of paper or construction onto the cardboard and they paint it. These cardboard frames were also decorated with cotton balls.

The cotton balls were actually re-used from a baby shower game, I meant to save them for christmas crafts, but couldn’t resist trying them out here. I think they look pretty nice.

Comments
  1. Kate says:

    Okay, so you’re obviously better at being one of those crafty moms than I. I do give my daughter oatmeal containers, but mostly so she can drum on them.

    Huh. On second thought, using the lids for paint would be a LOT quieter.

    (Thanks for the tips.)

    • squidmom says:

      Oatmeal canister drums rock, never underestimate them, I like to make cleaned out water bottle maracas to go with- it’s the magic that comes from dried beans or uncooked rice and plastic reused containers- you can’t put a price on stuff like that…

Leave a Reply

